JDRF One Walk

I am so happy and proud to be participating in my third walk for diabetes. It is such an amazing feeling to be supporting this cause but also to connect with so many others affected in some way, shape, or form by this disease. It’s truly overwhelming.

Normally when fundraising I turn to close friends and family to donate. I gather up my little walk team primarily made up of my husbands family and we get together to make t-shirts and just have an all around fun time. I typically raise anywhere between $200-$400 dollars which means a lot to me because I know that every single cent counts.

This year I teamed up with Buffalo Wild Wings in my local town and held my first ever fundraiser there. 10% of every diners bill went towards JDRF and my walk team. How cool is that? I won’t know until the end of the week what was raised but how incredible to know that just purchasing a meal that day would be helping so many people, funding all sorts of research for a medical break through..or a cure. So many people showed up and supported the cause and again I felt overwhelmed and overjoyed. I am really hoping to go above and beyond in my fundraising efforts this year and every year after. I like giving my all when it comes to things like this. It’s never about just me though. It’s about everyone.

Someone asked me once why, other than being diabetic myself, doing the walks and advocating was such a big deal to me. I thought it seemed like an awkward question. I smiled and simply said that, JDRF, the DOC, and every single person I have ever come across living with this disease made me rethink my life, my choices, and outlook on everything. I learned that most people felt exactly the way I did. Alone, vulnerable at times, and overall like no one really got it. I am but one voice in a sea of many but if someone could hear me then they were listening to others through me.

On a more personal level JDRF opened my eyes to the possibilities in managing my illness. My very first walk I learned about insulin pumps, cgm’s, and so much more. It gave me the initiative to research, review, and grow.

Over the past couple of years I have seen what this organization does for others and I know its the right place to be. I wish I could do even more. If I had the time to invest I’d volunteer, I’d be out there everyday. For now, I’ll fund-raise and donate and continue advocating for myself and other diabetics. Because it is important.

I like to think of it this way. If I want change, hope, or a cure one day, then I need to be that change and that hope. I need to step outside my own comfort zones, I need to be out there doing what I can do and doing it to my fullest potential. So that when that bright and shining day comes where Type one becomes Type None I can say with confidence that I did my part. We all did.

With that being said, if you’d be interested in donating some your pennies to my walk please let me know and I can send you the link.

Have you participated in any walks? What was the best part of it all for you?

Leave a Reply

