Monday Mantra.

positive thinking

It’s very easy to say you will do something. It takes a totally different part of the brain, or maybe just the heart, to actually do it. Actions speak louder than words. A truer statement could not be spoken, or written. I’d like to say that I live a positive lifestyle but I would be lying to you. There are times where I get into funks. I am only human. So with that come doubts. I doubt myself, my capabilities, my worth, my choices. I doubt life in general sometimes when it all appears to be going too well. I worry too much about everything but mostly things I can’t control. I am only human. What I will admit to is trying my very best, at all times, to shake those negative thoughts and fill myself up with positive ones.

This is not always as simple as it sounds. Sometimes those self loathing, self doubting thoughts can be like roots in the soil. Clinging to all that they can. Trying to ensure that you will not leave them behind like the miserable little beasts they are. Through prayer, self assurance, support, and encouragement a lot is possible.

I wake up in the morning with a thankful heart. I wake up in the morning excited to see my children. Excited to hear the silly stories my daughter comes up with. Overjoyed at the mere sound of my youngest giggling over his reflection. I wake up realizing that even if this day doesn’t go exactly as planned I can appreciate that it happened. All of it. Every tiny second. I wake up and I say thank you, Lord for this day and another chance to be a better person than I was yesterday, a better wife, a better mother, a better sister, and a better friend. We take for granted all that we are to ourselves and to others. One smile, one kind text, one hello it all means something. So who am I to let a sour thought enter my mind and ruin all the potential just one day has.

I wake up in the morning and I forget about what I might have been upset about before bed. I wake up and I smile and I greet the day, I greet my life, with cheer and an abundance of hope that it will be magnificent. And if for some reason it isn’t. If for some reason I let the doubts cloud my vision. I know that tomorrow will be better. Always.

I hope you all are having a wonderful Monday.

Stay safe and don’t forget to wear that smile. Someone else might be looking forward to it, too.

Leave a Reply

