Sleep when baby sleeps…

baby-mickey-mouse-sleeping-babymickmoon2

This is a very common phrase or piece of advice that is doled out to new parents, new moms, if we’re being specific. I heard it a lot during my first pregnancy, and again with my second one, however with my first I was actually able to sleep when she slept. She was the only one so all of my attention was on her. I solely focused on what she needed and even let my diabetes slip here and there. I ignored the laundry and the dishes. I vacuumed only so she wouldn’t get anything in her mouth she wasn’t supposed to. I literally did the bare minimum in house work and just enjoyed cuddling with her.

It was awesome.

With baby number two being a very rambunctious little guy and also having a very active seven year old now I don’t have many opportunities to “sleep when baby sleeps..” because when he is sleeping I am washing clothes and cleaning baby food stains out of the carpet and dealing with the aftermath of poo explosions, yes, those happen a lot. I am trying to give my oldest enough attention so she doesn’t feel neglected or feel any sort of animosity towards her little brother. I am trying to spend quality time with my husband. And this time around I am not allowing my diabetes to sit on the back burner. I’m busy being the secretary and planning meals.

There is so much more on my plate these days that when it comes to sleep it seems as though it is only something I can accomplish at night, once everyone is asleep, the house is semi picked up in case people stop by, laundry is done -because kids go through a lot more of it than you’d think- and I am just that exhausted. I can never sleep when baby sleeps during the day because there is always one thing after an other that needs my attention. So when I hear that piece of advice being thrown about…I cringe.

I’ll tell you the truth.

You can’t really sleep when baby sleeps unless you basically want to ignore the whole world. Occasionally it’s possible but those moments are few and far between. So no, don’t expect to sleep when baby sleeps. Instead of that incredibly played out advice I’ll say this, do try to relax whenever you can so that you can maintain your sanity. Always remember that eventually your to-do list will get done. Don’t be afraid to ask for help and never be afraid of letting the laundry go for a bit. As long as you’re happy, your family will be happy.

It’s going to be okay!

1 Comment

  1. “Always remember that eventually your to-do list will get done.” And don’t be aftaid to ask for help around the house. You can’t function without sleep :) but seriously (although I don’t have kids, just 3 dogs) it is a lot of work and there aren’t enough hours in the day. And no one can be “perfect” about *everything (although we may want to try) :) you are doing great and thank you for providing an honest perspective on motherhood (especially rhe second time around – I feel lole most blogs I read focus on the first pregnancy/newborn) your perspective being type 1 as well is both unique and outstanding (in your style of writing) <3

Leave a Reply

