Grocery store blues.

image

Life with children can get a little hectic.

Life with diabetes can get a little hectic.

Life with both can be downright outrageous at times.

If I am giving all my attention to one sometimes the others are being ignored. It’s not awesome but it’s the truth.

So far my husband has handled all of this very well. Our daughter has been the best big helper and we have fallen into a nice routine. It is a bit rough around the edges here and there but it works for us, for now. Every one is happy and healthy which is always my main goal in life.

Once in awhile we try to do things as a family which involves all of us being apart of it. It’s fun. I guess I’m weird because I actually enjoy grocery shopping. I especially enjoy grocery shopping with my husband. It’s something we’ve always done together. I don’t know why. We’ve considered it our time though. Sometimes our daughter will be there, or we’ll go while she’s in school. The only time there’s a solo trip is if one of us isn’t feeling well. The other day we ventured out as a whole unit to grocery shop..here’s how it went from awesome to a bad idea in a matter of seconds…

The baby was already a bit fussy. Normally he falls into a deep sleep in the car but this time he wasn’t having it. Our daughter was tired and feeling fidgety. My husband and I were exhausted from lack of sleep the night before and of course my diabetes decided to be a jerk.

We’re at the end of our grocery shopping adventure when on our way to pay my blood sugar decides to plummet. It was so inconvenient because my son was screaming his head off and my daughter was not cooperating. My husband was focused on getting us out of there as quickly as possible and there I am, a stone, unable to think or move. My husband asks me to type in our phone number for the in store coupons and I couldn’t even remember it. My dexcom reads LOW and I just keep staring at the words on the screen. It’s like I was in a trance. I just kept thinking, how did this happen?

My daughter hands me her skittles to open and I vaguely remember asking for some. Before I know it I’m shoveling little rainbow colored bits into my mouth while the cashier stares at me. My husband’s telling me to go sit down and my daughter is asking for her candy back. I laughed like nothing was wrong and began calming the baby down. My was head still foggy but I could feel my senses slowly return to normal. I signaled to my husband that everything was fine and we finished up our transaction and left.

I was thankful that it wasn’t as bad as it could have been. I know that things like this will happen and it won’t stop me from family outings but boy was it tough. Hoping to be better prepared next time. That’s all I can ever really do. Hope that the next time diabetes decides to keep me on my toes I will be ready to tackle it down and keep it there.

Leave a Reply

