Traveling with diabetes: pt2

Recently my little family and I ventured out to Florida for our first road trip/family vacation. More specifically we went to Disney world. It truly was magical, once we got there that is, the drive down was awful.

It was an incredibly long drive with a seven year old and five month old. I’ll admit they did better than I thought they would. We packed snacks, drinks, everything but the kitchen sink.

The drive was so long that I nearly cried when I saw the glorious Welcome to Disney sign. Among traveling with two children I also had to travel with diabetes. This worried me the most. I’d never really traveled such a long distance with my friend diabetes. I worried if I’d forget something or wouldn’t have enough of something so I literally packed everything…

1. Three omnipods not including the one I wore.
2. Two vials of insulin not including the open one in my purse.
3. A box of syringes.
4. Extra test strips.
5. A new sensor for my dexcom.
6. A whole new pack of AAA batteries for my PDM.
7. Charger for Dex.

There’s probably a few more things I’m forgetting but I wanted to make sure I was covered for every situation that could possibly go wrong. Every stop  we had to make for the kiddos I checked my sugar, gave insulin, made sure to get out and walk around for circulation purposes, and made sure to pay attention to every signal my body gave me. Overall it went well.

The days at Disney were great. Went low a few times but there was plenty to indulge in, err, plenty around to help me out for strictly medical reasons. My tips are only this…check, cheek and check again. Stay hydrated, it’s easy to forget about drinking water when you’ve got a million things on your plate. And don’t be afraid to over pack your supplies. I’d rather have and not need then need it and not have it.

The trip ended too soon but it went spectacular.
Don’t forget to smile. I’m sure you’ve got plenty of reasons.

image

Leave a Reply

