Level Foods Review

Recently I started looking into level foods, quite a few of my fellow diabetic friends love their products, so I figured I’d research them a bit. If you don’t know much about them level foods is a US based company founded by Ethan, a type one diabetic, who strives to help you take control of your life and your diabetes. Their products make living with diabetes easier by providing healthy, delicious, snacks or shakes that keep your blood sugars level and give you the boost of energy you need to get you through the day.

Sounds awesome, right? I thought so.

After following Level Foods on Facebook to see what they were all about I was lucky enough to win one of their giveaways. My prize was a box of chocolatey peanut crunch and I was very excited to give them a try.

Side note: I received my box very fast which made me even happier.

image

Let’s get to the fun part. The taste and my thoughts.
I wasn’t surprised by the taste. It was what you’d expect from something that is a better choice for you. The dark chocolate and peanuts covered up a lot of that cardboard taste you get with some protein bars. I liked it. But I wasn’t in love. What I loved was that I had eaten this bar before work and my blood sugar levels were amazing. No spikes. No lows. Everything stayed in range and I had a little extra pep in my step, too. Another plus? I wasn’t completely famished by the time I got my lunch break.

I would recommend level foods to all my diabetic friends strictly for the blood sugar results. This particular product, chocolatey peanut crunch, was not my favorite but with such a variety of flavors in bars and shakes I’m sure I’ll find something that suits my taste buds.

If you are looking for products to try head on over to your local Target. They have all sorts of Level Foods products and if you have cartwheel you can find discounts on them as well.

Have you tried Level Foods before? Thoughts? Favorite flavors?

2 Comments

  1. To tell the truth, I tried one of the shakes once (I was given a free sample) and couldn’t get myself to finish it. It was WAY too sweet for me. (It was also room temperature, which made it kinda gross). I haven’t tried the bars, but can’t find a reason for me to cram a meal’s worth of carbs in five bites, so the concept alone doesn’t appeal to me. Level foods plays the “Net carbs” game, which I find to be a confusing, and quite frankly – deceptive, marketing practice.

    I’ve used the glucose gels before (also free samples I’ve obtained). They say it works faster than glucose tabs because it’s already a liquid and not a solid which needs to be broken down. Perhaps that’s true, I don’t have enough experience to tell (they DO work, though). But they contain sucralose (the sweetner in Splenda). Why does a low-glucose treatment need to add fake sugar on top of real sugar? I have no idea; it seems silly to me. Taste-wise, it’s too sweet for me, and maybe the extra sweetness discourages overtreating.

    And whether a disclosure is warranted or not, I was offered a big sample of stuff and a chance to host a giveaway on my blog (like so many others have) and politely declined. I’m just not into that sort of thing.

    I’m probably the only person to NOT rave about these things, so take that for what it’s worth.

Leave a Reply

