Nap time.

I forgot how much I loved nap time. When you’re a kid and they are something you have to do you hate them. Then you get older and you start to appreciate a good nap here and there. You snooze for a bit before work or between classes at college. As a parent you find another reason to love and appreciate nap time. It’s a brief moment you get to spend doing whatever it is you have/need to do during the day. Your kids are asleep and you are free, for the most part, to have a cup of coffee. Use the restroom by yourself. Do the laundry in peace. Yes, even doing house hold chores with out a little one distracting you can be bliss.

My oldest has passed that precious napping stage but has moved on to an even better phase. The big helper phase. She will help me sort and fold laundry. She helps me make up the grocery list. She’ll even pick up other peoples messes. She’s amazing. Now that I have a second little one I am remembering how much I love nap time again.

My little man, who is almost two months now, is a snuggle bug. He likes to be in my arms constantly. He feeds every 2-3 hours and then just wants to coo and cuddle. I love it. Except when I have to get a million things done, like shower, eat, change my pod, calibrate my dexcom, and do things around the house. My big helper can only handle so much so I am left balancing what is important, what really needs to get done, and what isn’t so important. Tough decisions need to be made. Sometimes the laundry is not going to get done in a timely fashion and sometimes we’ll be eating leftovers.

None of that truly matters.

What matters is sometimes I get to choose whatever I want to do because my little one is napping. Once in a while I decide to really live life on the edge and I’ll take a nap too. :)

Life after pregnancy is an interesting time. It’s quite the balancing act. The nice part is that I don’t have to impress anyone, I can move at my own pace, and I can choose to do the laundry or not do the laundry. All that matters is that my kids are happy and healthy. And that I am as well.

On that note I’ll be taking off now. Nap time is almost over…

Leave a Reply

