Making my lists..

…and checking them twice.

No, it’s not Christmas. Though that is right around the corner. It’s getting-everything-ready-for-baby time. Because no matter how prepared you think you are, sometimes, something ends up jumping out to startle you. Well, not this time. I plan to be one step ahead of the game whenever possible.

For example, not only are all of the little guys things put together, organized, and set up, I am also pre-registered at the hospital I will be delivering at. I will be touring the facility, hopefully, sometime this week. AND I am going to be completely stocked up on my diabetic supplies for a few months. I can’t imagine remembering to call about supplies with an adorable little baby in my arms.

Another issue I am addressing. To hospital bag or not to..hospital bag?

I had gone back and forth on whether or not I would actually pack one this time around. When I had my daughter it was in the middle of the night/early morning and I had just gotten out of the shower. I felt the excruciating pains of contractions and frantically woke my husband up. We were both exhausted and not very clear headed. I remember chucking a bag in his general direction and screaming at him to throw stuff in it. I feel like, literally, whatever was in front of us at that moment in time was put into it.

(You’d think with being diabetic I would have been way more prepared!)

Once we arrived at the hospital and were all set up we realized upon inspection of said bag that we had forgotten most everything we really wanted to bring. My husband had to drive all the way back to the house to get clothes for me and baby girl, my make up, hairbrush, etc. The only thing we had managed to grab was our phones and chargers. This time around I wanted to do things a little differently. Looking back I can remember thinking, boy, I wish I had remembered to pack this or that. Little things that would have made my stay at the hospital slightly more cozier. (I kicked  myself for not packing a bag early on in that pregnancy. I ended up being very stressed out!) So, recently, I took to a few forums that I frequent and asked them if they were going to be packing bags. With an overwhelming yes every single one of them sent me lists upon lists of what they would be bringing with them.

I picked and prodded those lists and came up with one of my own. Pictured above this post was a glimpse of what I will be packing. Just the essentials really. One mom described packing my hospital bag as, “things you’d take with you on a mini vacation!” In the next week or so I plan on heading out to grab some travel sized things to take with me. Hopefully this time around everything in my bag will be things I actually need.

For you mamas out there:

How important is it to you that you have a bag packed and ready to go?

What will be, or was, inside of yours?

3 Comments

  1. Mine is mostly packed, as is baby girl’s. But DH and I have a list on Googledocs to consult once the contractions comes more steady. Things like a vial of insulin and my camera stuff hasn’t been packed yet. I just bought travel sizes of everything. My hospital also gives out a bunch of stuff to, so maybe call and ask so you aren’t overpacking?

  2. Ugh, I can’t seem to get the motivation to pack! I think because so much “stuff” really needs to be last minute like phone chargers (since we don’t have extras), insulin (since it needs refrigeration) and clothes (I still need to buy some nursing tops). With that being said though, I was told by my high risk OB to come every appointment with my bag (since week 32, in case they notice something and have to act quickly) and I still haven’t showed up once with a bag-oops!

Leave a Reply

