What’s new Wednesday?

The sign that sits in my kitchen. :)

 

Happy Wednesday!

Here’s a little update on what’s been going on in my life since I last posted.

  • The insulin shenanigans has been figured out and solved. In fact I finally received it the other day. I was able to breath a sigh of relief and fill a new pod. I am thankful to each and every one of you who offered up insulin from your own supply. For those of you who read and are not insulin dependent, well, it’s like offering me $100 out of your paycheck with no questions asked. Just because you care. Just because you understand the struggle. New pods are on the way, insulin is fully stocked, Dexcom sensors are stocked as well. I am set for the rest of this month and next. Whew.
  • I had a baby appointment the other day. Heartbeat sounds great. Little guy is growing right on track. My blood sugars have been amazing and that slight insulin resistance has subsided with a few tweaks here and there to basal rates. The OBGYN says it is smooth sailing from here on out and that makes me feel so happy and relieved. He’d like to see me make it all the way to 39 weeks with this pregnancy. I am hoping more for 37 weeks. That is when my oldest kiddo came into the world. If he makes his debut when the doctors want then that would put him smack dab on my daughters birthday. I know we are teaching her to share and all that good stuff but let’s be real, would you be all about sharing your day with a sibling? I guess we’ll just have to wait and see how everything shakes out but I am still crossing my fingers and toes that he comes just a little early. Appointments are going to be every two weeks now. So the finish line is just around the corner.
  • Work has been getting tough on my poor legs, feet, and back. Even with the compression socks, new shoes, and staying hydrated, I am still a swollen, achy mess. I am counting down the days until maternity leave. My body needs a break.
  • First grade started on the 13th! I am amazed at how fast time flies. I feel like just yesterday I was cradling my baby girl in my arms and now she is helping to pack lunches and waking up with her own little alarm clock. She’s going to be seven this November and sometimes I wish I could rewind time. Not sure if it’s these silly pregnancy emotions or my “normal” ones but first grade is a lot harder then I thought it’d be, for me. She’s gone most of the day now and I just miss her so much. She’s learning so much though. Her excitement when she gets home is breathtaking. She says that she’s learning all she can so that she can be a diabetic doctor one day and help all the diabetics in the world. Her heart is ginormous.

That’s my life in a nutshell right now.

How have you all been? Hope August has been good to you. :)

First grade book

If you have first graders in your life I suggest reading something like this to them. My daughter loved it and was super excited about school.

2 Comments

  1. I’m behind on reading my d-blogs but I was happy to see you posted yesterday! I was thinking about you and wondering how you have been doing! Glad to hear everything is going well (minus the work’s impact on your body) I’m secretly hoping for week 37 as well haha…mainly because I can’t wait to meet the little guy! Hope your daughter had a great first day of school!

Leave a Reply

