July Blog Carnival.

We usually talk about how we deal with different aspects of diabetes, or things that would help us deal with those aspects.  This month let’s change things up a bit.  We’re going to revisit a question from the Open Chat on June 18th and come up with something about diabetes to change.  That’s right, we want to know…

If you could change one thing about diabetes, (besides not having it), what would you change? Why?

That’s a very good question.

The common answer is almost always going to be that I didn’t have it in the first place but since I can’t use that one this time I will have to actually put some thought into it. :)

Here’s what I have narrowed it down to:

  • I’d change the stigma that comes with having diabetes, any kind. If I could touch every single persons ear in this entire world and teach them the differences, the truths, and the myths about having/living with diabetes, it would make life so much easier, I think. I wouldn’t have to over explain myself. I wouldn’t have to justify or defend myself. I could just live and do what I needed to do without feeling judged by society. Like I did this to myself. Like any of us chose the diabetic life.
  • I’d change the financial burden it puts on my pocket book and my household. Yes, I have decent insurance now but that wasn’t always the case. When I was first diagnosed I didn’t have any insurance whatsoever. I paid out of pocket for everything which meant I wasn’t always getting what I needed. When my husband and I started dating he would help out with my medical needs. (What a keeper, right?) Now that we are both working the cost of diabetes has gotten slightly easier but not much better. Let’s be honest, diabetes is expensive. The insulin, the meters and test strips, the devices like insulin pumps and CGM’s. Nothing is cheap or free. So if I could change anything it’d be making it more affordable. A topic I know a lot of people in the diabetes online community take seriously and have been advocating for.
  • Lastly, I’d change the scars that diabetes leaves behind. Both emotionally and physically. I have beaten myself up and down for not having the perfect blood sugars, the perfect regimen, the perfect A1c. I have cried analyzing the data and wondering where I went wrong. Or where I could improve. I wish diabetes wasn’t like that. Such a roller coaster. I know that is way easier said then done but the question doesn’t limit my imagination on what I’d change. Along with that I would change the physical hurt it causes our bodies. I have scars and bruises, markings from my pod sites and injections. Pin pricks on my fingers linger longer than I would like and they are all constant reminders of the battle I fight every day. I wish I could change that aspect of this disease. For me, for all of us.

I know that some of these ideas, thoughts, hopes, seem far fetched and completely out of reach but when faced with such a powerful question I can’t imagine the answers would be so simple.

“This post is my July entry in the DSMA Blog Carnival.  If you’d like to participate too, you can get all of the information athttp://diabetescaf.org/2014/07/july-dsma-blog-carnival-4/

2 Comments

  1. I think that out of anything to deal with or control out of diabetes, the emotional aspect is the most difficult. Not only the emotions associated with blood sugars not going the right way, but also the emotions that come from feeling isolated. I spent a lot of my life feeling like I was the only diabetic out there, I was the only one who knew what I was going through. And then I got online, pulled myself out of ScienceDirect (because I spend WAY too much time there, it’s really sad) and met people and finally found that I’m not alone. :)

    • When I was first diagnosed I felt the very same. Like it was only me in a sea of “normal” healthy people and it was depressing. It took a long time before I finally found the diabetes online community and realized that I wasn’t alone. There were lots of people living life with this disease and it was so inspiring. Yes, the most difficult part is the emotional aspect. It’s the only part, I feel, that is never black and white. There’s so much that goes on at one time that I know I can feel a bit overwhelmed. Thankfully, now, I know where to turn. :)

Leave a Reply

