Waking up thankful.

Morning sunrise

There are normally a ton of things I am thinking about, stressing and worrying over. Especially when it comes to living with type one diabetes. Every day is an adventure. When I roll the dice today will I get good numbers? Will the diabetes monster stay in it’s cage so that I can enjoy the warm weather? With this pregnancy added into the mix you can imagine the sort of jumbled mess I have become. Which is why my attempt at DBlogWeek this year was sort of a failure. Which is why I haven’t been blogging as much as I would like, or keeping up with my social media family. I have been so bogged down with worry and stress that I haven’t been able to enjoy myself or this pregnancy yet. Then I thought about it, like really thought about it, and I figured it all out..

If I continue to care for my diabetes and do everything I know I have to then there isn’t much to worry about. Why be so concerned with the “what ifs” if they haven’t even happened. This morning I took a deep breath and let all that negativity go. I inhaled all the positive energy and exhaled anything that would bring me down.

This morning I woke up thankful and a little less stressed out about things going on right now.

I’m thankful for my Dexcom that alarmed me this morning, and many other times, that my blood sugar was getting dangerously low. I was able to act quickly and get my numbers back in range with little to no side affects.

I’m thankful for my Omnipod that delivers insulin to me through out the whole day. If I’m not eating something I don’t even have to think about it. The job is getting done and I appreciate that. Recently I had to go a few days with out the pump and only fast acting insulin because my insurance was being crabby. I realize that this tiny little device deserves a lot more credit.

I’m thankful for my wonderful husband who lets me sleep in while he gets out daughter up and ready for school.

I’m thankful for the little naps I am able to take through out the day because my daughter understands that growing a baby, and managing diabetes, kind of wears mommy out some times.

I’m thankful for the conversations I have with other expecting type one mommy’s that put my fears at ease.

Every once in awhile I need a little reminder that everything is going to be fine.

I need to remember to always focus on the good and that it’s okay to worry about the craziness once we cross that bridge. Instead I am going to focus on the end of Kindergarten coming up on Tuesday and how I can’t wait to celebrate that accomplishment with my daughter. I am going to continue to plan an awesome summer staycation for this little family filled with zoo trips, bowling, picnics, fireworks, and everything in between. I am going to continue to wake up thankful because that is much better for the soul than waking up a hot mess all the time.

It’s not thanksgiving but you can still be thankful. What are you thankful for today?

And as always..

Smile, because why not?

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

