When old friends meet again.

I wouldn’t really call us friends. I’ve always needed you more than you needed me.

I’m not talking about another person either. I’m talking about shots. Syringes and insulin vials. We met eight years ago in January and then I made the switch over to an insulin pump November of 2013. This new relationship has been going well. So I thought. Until I had three pods fail/deactivate themselves while in use.

THREE pods in two weeks.

Color me frustrated.

So MDI was back in the picture for about a day and a half. Usually catching up with an old friend is nice. However, this meeting was far from nice. Here’s the back story: A few days ago I woke up to do a pod change. Everything went smoothly. I went through each step, as I always do, paying meticulous attention to every single detail. This would be my last pod change until my order shipped. Which was a whole fiasco in itself because I needed new authorization from insurance and then my address change threw things off even though I had submitted that weeks before my move.

The pod went on properly and like normal I started my pump up. About an hour later something went wrong and the darn thing decided to deactivate itself. I was out running errands when this happened so I was a bit frantic. My last pod, filled to the max with insulin, and it decides to stop. Thankfully I had a few syringes on me and the vial I had just pulled from. I panicked internally but kept a smiling face. Was I going to have to give myself shots all day?

I called the Omnipod reps to see what the hold up was and what they suggested in the meantime. They confirmed shipment, finally, and put a rush order on it. I had to work that night so I was even more upset.

I called my team leader to inform them of the situation. That I would be checking my dexcom quite a bit and would possibly need to leave the floor once in a while to inject insulin. They were all very understanding. I won’t even get into the emotional stress I caused myself worrying about work and the inconvenience I felt I was putting on everyone because of all this. I teared up in the car before starting my shift. I hated having to explain to everyone why I was a bit “off” why my eyes looked glazed over or why I needed to shove that kitkat in my mouth like a crazed lunatic.

Overall the night went better than I had expected. I hovered in the 150’s-160’s, with occasional drops below 60 here and there, but every break I would test and inject a few units to make sure I stood below 200. The next day I worked again and worried that I would have to do the same thing all over again. The most frustrating part is that I couldn’t get a handle on it I was either sky rocketing or dropping below 50. Had I forgotten how to “old school” bolus already?

About an hour before I had to leave for work my pods showed up. I literally jumped for joy. I never thought I’d be that ecstatic to have robot parts again. So far so good. This pod has been on for two days now and seems to be working just fine. Blood sugar is back to normal. Which is great considering I have blood work tomorrow.

Needless to say it has been one stressful week. I will say this though, the Omnipod representatives/customer service is amazing. They are replacing the pods that malfunctioned and we also chatted about rotating sites and which areas work best for some people. They are just exquisite at making you feel comfortable.

I made it out alive but I am hoping to not have to deal with this much chaos for awhile.

What I learned from all of this is that some things are not guaranteed. Technology malfunctions no matter how awesome it is and we just have to roll with the punches. It all worked out in the end and that’s what matters. Now I know to always be prepared and to have a plan a, b, c, and d. Just in case.

Don’t forget to smile. I know you’ll find a reason to.

How has your week/weekend been?

3 Comments

  1. I know there are some people who LOVE the Omnipods and they work well for them. But I’ve always been on a tubed pump (Deltec Cosmo for many years, and now the Medtronic Minimed) and have never had as many issues as I see coming from people who use Pods. In fact, I can probably count the number of bad sites, kinked cannulas, or occlusions I’ve had in the past 14 years on 1 hand. Just saying, maybe people should try out and use a tubed pump before going to an Omnipod? As kind of a better “gateway” to pump using. Just a thought! :)

    • Possibly. I know that for me personally I was I nervous about being “hooked” up to something. With the Pods, when placed on my lower back for instance, don’t bother me whatsoever. I mean I can go about my day like nothing. With that said, when something does go wrong with the pods it can really turn your whole day around. I suggest trials and what not to everyone interested in pumps. What works for one doesn’t always work for another. I’ll more than likely stick with Omnipod. Just hoping there aren’t more pod failures in my future. Haha.

      • Yes, I HIGHLY recommend trying out a couple of different pumps before committing to one, or if you do have to “commit” for you try it, make sure there’s a return policy so you can get another (and insurance will pay) if your first choice doesn’t work out. When I had to change over from the Deltec Cozmo, I thought the Ping would be great, but I ended up hating it for many reasons. Animas customer service was great, though, and I was able to return it and get a Medtronic instead.

Leave a Reply

