Do what you love.

Smile

by Nat King Cole

Smile though your heart is aching
Smile even though it’s breaking
When there are clouds in the sky, you’ll get by
If you smile through your fear and sorrow
Smile and maybe tomorrow
You’ll see the sun come shining through, for you

Light up your face with gladness
Hide every trace of sadness
Although a tear may be ever so near
That’s the time you must keep on trying
Smile, what’s the use of crying?
You’ll find that life is still worthwhile
If you just smile

That’s the time you must keep on trying
Smile, what’s the use of crying?
You’ll find that life is still worthwhile
If you just smile

This song speaks volumes to me, and about me, I have always put on a happy face. When life got tough, and then tougher, I smiled through it. Don’t get me wrong. Tears have been shed. Hearts have been broken. Words have cut deeper than knives could. Yet here I am, still standing, still learning that I can be am strong.

Here’s a  little segment called Things that I love. 

Really, things that keep me going.

Keep me motivated. Keep me thankful for each bright new day.

Things that keep me smiling.

  • My daughters laughter, just like her smile, it’s contagious. When she bursts out with this rumble of a laugh or giggle you’ll always find yourself laughing to. And I love that. I’m very lucky to be her mommy.
  • Even though I could do without the freezing weather there is something about that cold, crisp, air nipping at your face. It wakes you up. It makes you feel alive. The crushed snow upon your fingertips remind you that it is okay to investigate with child like interest every little thing. The world is ready to be explored.
  • Warm blankets right out of the dryer. It’s simply heaven on a very cold evening to toss those blankets in for a moment and then wrap yourself up in them. It’s like a bear hug. :)
  • That smile my husband will send me from across a room. That look he gives me when our eyes meet. It’s like falling in love all over again. Sometimes with the hustle and bustle of life we can forget how young we still are. How it’s okay to be silly, love struck, youngsters with all our hopes and dreams waiting for us.
  • Long talks on the phone with my sister. Even in the distance. We connect. We laugh. We make memories. I’m the little sister who has yearned to be on her level. To be viewed as an equal and not just the baby of the family. I’m finally there and I can finally say that she is truly my best friend.
  • Random texts from my niece remind me that I am still remembered. I like to do the same. It’s nice to let others know, even if it’s a quick moment, that you are still in their hearts.

I think it’s so important to remember all the things that make you happy. That make you smile. It’s so easy to forget what really matters when there are bills to be paid and jobs to get done. Laundry and cleaning, doctors appointments and health issues, I mean the list goes on. Which is why I decided to write this list instead. Because I’d rather be happy than miserable. NO, it doesn’t change the fact that there will always be a lot on our plates sometimes but it’s the perfect motivation to keep on going. Those little moments in between all the chaos that remind us that we are human and deserve to laugh, and giggle, and make messes that don’t need to be cleaned up right away.

Don’t hate Monday, don’t hate any day.

Try to enjoy the opportunities we are given to live.

Smile, there’s always a reason to.

2 Comments

  1. Definitely. I’ve found that the tough times make good ones that much more valuable. Sometimes, I just sit back, look at my wife and and feel like the luckiest guy in the world — despite all the crap I deal with. A great post, and an excellent reminder…

Leave a Reply

