My electronic pancreas.

This is my life. Everything I need to know to keep myself healthy is featured on these little devices. I feel naked with out them by my side. At the end of the day I have an electronic pancreas. The Omnipod delivers insulin. The Dexcom, which I have dubbed Dex Shepherd, tells me where my blood sugar is sitting.

Kind of neat, right?

I laughed the other day when I showed my daughter where the pod and sensors were, they were placed on my stomach, and she began yelling, “Robot Stomach!!” And then hugged me and said I was cute. Um, thanks?!

I do love that she will check my blood sugar for me, which just involves pushing the dexcom button, then cheers me on when I am in range. She’s an awesome little helper. Next I’ll show her how to bolus for me.

Overall this has been a very pleasant experience. Minus the insurance woes. That’s a story for another day though.

I leave you with this..

“The pain you feel today is the strength you feel tomorrow. For every challenge encountered there is opportunity for growth.”

This helps me get through the days when I don’t feel like being diabetic anymore.

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

