Anniversaries and things..

I’d like to start off with a big ol’ HAPPY NEW YEAR!

I truly hope 2014 treats each and every one of you well.

Sending happiness and joy to you throughout the year.

I also hope you all had happy holidays.

Now on to business..

2013 started off, almost, like any other year. By the end, however, I was pleasantly surprised. There is so much going on that it’s difficult to form coherent sentences. So lets start off small..

  • On December 30th my husband and I celebrated another year together. It’s been such a fantastic journey, seven years total, with him by my side. We have been through so much. He is definitely my rock. We stood low key this year. There has been so much going on that all we really wanted was a moment to breathe. He did get me a very beautiful card though.
  • January 1st I celebrated eight years of diabetes under my belt. Until I came across the DOC (Diabetes Online Community) I didn’t think that diaversaries were a thing. Why would I want to “celebrate” such a horrible day. Then I started looking at it as more of a badge of honor. My life changed forever but it wasn’t ruined. It wasn’t over. A new chapter began. I am still alive, still being awesome, still succeeding in everything that people said I couldn’t because diabetes would hold me back. Eight years down and many more to go. Cause that’s what fighters do. They keep moving forward.
  • Come February 1st we will indeed be moving into a much better place. No leaky roofs. No nonsense. Plenty of space for this growing family. Which will be fantastic. We’ve already begun the packing process which keeps my mild OCD on it’s toes. I am trying not to freak out with the boxes and the clutter every where. I just keep telling myself that it’s all worth it. :)
  • I mentioned that I had started working. Just a seasonal position at my local Target. I was expecting to be let go once the busy season calmed down. Then I heard the most amazing news last week..they are keeping me. Yes, I am now a permanent team member and this is very exciting. With all my new diabetes gadgets I needed to be able to pay for the extras and now I can. Also, it has been such a fun experience working again and I am so happy I took that leap. I really enjoy being out and social. It’s who I am. My coworkers are great too.

What else..?

  • Well, now I can discuss my Omnipod/Dexcom adventure. It’s been phenomenal. I went from not really wanting to change my regimen to wishing I had done this years ago. The Dex is nice because during the times I can’t do a finger check I still know where I am, for the most part. Some people have mentioned how inaccurate it can be. For me, it’s been very spot on. That has been a relief when I am running around work and can’t get to the back to check. The Omnipod, well, that has been a true blessing. Being able to just bolus on the spot whenever I need to, without all the needles, vials, and weird stares has been incredible. I feel so much more confident. Another plus. with this dual system I haven’t been low once. The highs on the other hand have been more than I would like but I know that once I get this system fine tuned it’ll be smooth sailing from here on out. I am excited about all of this!
  • Work, as I mentioned, has been better because now I can focus more on work and less on when I can check my sugar or take insulin. Over all I am very happy with my decision to use these devices.

So far 2014 has been great. There have been a few, minor, bumps and what not but I can’t complain. That’s how life works. If everything were smooth 100% of the time I think things would get rather boring. I like surprises..once in awhile. Ha.

I’m hoping that once things settle down, probably in March sometime, I will really be able to blog.

Thank you to everyone who has been supporting me in this journey of insulin pumps and what not. All your kind words and messages mean so much to me. I appreciate you all taking the time to remember me.

Take care. And don’t forget to smile..there’s always a reason to.

 

6 Comments

  1. As you know, I’m a huge fan of diaversaries! Hope yours was awesome and that you did something fun to celebrate all you’ve accomplished with diabetes. I definitely don’t celebrate the day… I celebrate all the ones that came after.

Leave a Reply

