December: DSMA Blog Carnival.

Happy December. As we get ready to say good-bye to 2013 and welcome in 2014 it seems fitting to reflect on what we did this year and what we hope to do next year. Let’s put a diabetes spin on things and talk about . . . . .

Out with the Old, In with the New – Diabetes Style.

With this topic, anything goes. Maybe you have a diabetes habit you want to break and replace with a new habit. Perhaps you are going to revamp your exercise plan and trade in an old workout routine for a new one. It could be time to put a new focus on yourself, such as limiting some online advocacy in favor devoting time to things you need to stay healthy and happy. You might be thinking of changing up some current tools (meters, pumps, diabetes apps) for a new version. Or maybe you have plans to make some food swaps or try a new eating plan. What ever it is, we want to hear about it!

I really like this topic. There are quite a few things I’d like to change especially with the new year approaching.

Working out: I really need to get into this and stick with it. For the entire month of November I was walking 1-3 miles a day, depending on what was going on, plus doing little workout challenges I’d see on Facebook. Then the cold and snow hit, the work schedule got a little bit busier, and I found myself not so motivated anymore. Which makes me feel like such a slacker because the workouts were really helping with the blood sugars.

Eating right: I’d like to think that I make very smart choices when it comes to food. Then I snap myself back to reality and remind myself that I do indulge here and there. It happens, to a lot of us I’m sure, but I need to start really making better decisions so that I can maintain a strong/healthy body.

Device Swap: I’m hoping that my Endo will start my training on the OmniPod. I have this beautiful little device just collecting dust until I get the go head to start using it. I have started a sort of Dexcom trial and I have to admit that I am so loving it. This might be a change to make in the new year.

I need to not be so afraid of doing things a different way. I have been MDI since diagnosis. I’ve used a regular glucose monitor to tell me what my numbers are. Nothing wrong with any of that but I see that these devices I have been able to test and research have proven to be just as amazing. SO I am ready for new adventures.

Breaking habits: I plan to change my lancet every day. Instead of..um, well, just more often. :)

A new year means new opportunities, new moments to better myself. I plan on doing more walk to cures, more advocating, not just online, but in my community. Educating everyone and anyone who will listen. Most importantly I plan to take better care of myself. Even more than I have been. Every day is a chance to push myself forward and grow, not just with diabetes, but in my whole life. I am so excited about the upcoming year.

I hope you are too.

Don’t forget to smile. There’s always a reason to.

 

“This post is my December entry in the DSMA Blog Carnival. If you’d like to participate too, you can get all of the information at http://diabetescaf.org/2013/12/december-dsma-blog-carnival-3/‎“

2 Comments

  1. I am in the same predicament as you with exercising. I do not mind, but when old man Winter visit’s it is hard to walk or run outside. My new rule, if it is above 15 degrees and there isn’t any snow on the ground, I will be walking or running at least a half a mile. Congratulations on pumping! Good luck with changing your lancet everyday. Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

