Thankful Thursday.

It’s that time of year again.

Family gatherings, great big feasts, full bellies, and of course football.

I love the holidays. It’s truly a special time of year. I remember growing up and my mom putting everything into the holidays. Decorations, music, the house smelling of turkey and homemade sides. Nothing came from a box. The sound of the parade in the background of conversations. It was the best.

Now that I am an adult with a family of my own I try to share all of my traditions with my daughter. We get up early and watch the parade. Laughing and singing along to all the songs. We cuddle up sipping hot cocoa and wait for my husband to get home from work. (Because the restaurant business stops for no one) This year will be a little different because I’ll be working too but that won’t stop me from making sure the holidays are a special time of year for my little one too.

I thought I would share a few things I am thankful for this year..though I try to have a thankful heart every single day.

1. First and foremost I am thankful for my little family. They have supported and loved me through so much. I love getting to make so many amazing memories with my husband and our darling little girl.

2. I am thankful that my brother is living out here now. Whether we fight sometimes, like siblings do, it is always nice to have a piece of home out here with me. A piece of my mom really.

3. I am thankful for all of my awesome friends in the DOC. Some of you I’ve met via twitter and others I know through my Facebook page. Each and every one of you has touched my life and shown me the power of friendship even if we’ve never met.

4. I am thankful for my health. Yes, I have diabetes but diabetes doesn’t have me. Thanks to technology and amazing insurance I can take care of myself so I can be around for many, many more thanksgivings.

5. I am so thankful for my new job. It’s been wonderful. A true blessing.

6. Last but not least, I am thankful for the rest of my family, out here and back in California. From actual hugs to virtual ones you’ve all shown me what unconditional love is. That I can be my silly self and not worry about anything.

I am so grateful for every person I’ve met. Every opportunity I’ve had. Every smile that someone has shared with me. This is the only life we get and I plan to make it so amazing. So spectacular. I wish the same for all of you.

Happy Thanksgiving, friends.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Frozen in Time: Thankful Thoughts | The Stretch For Something Beautiful

Leave a Reply

