You’re my type.

Sometimes I am hesitant to share my blood sugar numbers or my A1c’s with other people with diabetes (PWD) because I don’t want to feel inadequate and I wouldn’t want others to feel that way. Let’s face it..we all compare ourselves to one another. It happens.

But diabetes..shouldn’t be a competition.

The DOC is a community. If your numbers aren’t where you want them to be then keep working at it and I will be right behind you cheering you on.

It’s the same thing with all the type one this and type two that. Listen, diabetes sucks. For me, for you, for everyone in between. No one wishes this disease on themselves no matter what type it is. Not one of them is “worse” than the other. They are both tedious and aggravating.

Whatever “type” you are..I support you. I’m cheering you on. I am sending you wonderful blood sugar vibes and that’s that. If so many people in the world are staring at us like we are sickly, lazy pancreas carrying, fools, why are we judging one another?

Everyone else is doing that enough.

Let’s stick together. Let’s join hands, and not entirely in a sing-song around the campfire kind of way, but in a community kind of way. I am saddened when I hear judgement and rude comments tossed at type ones or type twos by one another. That’s not how it should be.

That’s not what I signed up for anyway.

I have spoken to a few people who are feeling alienated by others because of their “type” and it’s ridiculous.

I’m going to step off of my soap box though and leave you with this. Just because I get a good A1c or a bad one doesn’t mean I’m going to stop fighting. And just because you have type one, two, three, four, or five diabetes doesn’t mean you should either. Keep fighting. Keep doing you and let everything else go. Life is too short.

Smile, there’s always a reason to.

 

 

4 Comments

  1. This saddens me and confuses me. I’ve seen so much of this criticizing going on lately and it’s totally not fair. You wrote it exactly how it is – it sucks for all of us!! Therefore we have to be supportive no matter what.
    I’m with you!

  2. What Scully said! I’ve always been in the “If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all” camp. Besides, supporting someone always feels better than tearing them down. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

