Friday Fives.

1. Because I posted/screamed/shouted everywhere I could, a lot of you know that I have already received my OmniPod insulin pump. What I am, impatiently, waiting for is the training session I need before I can go live. Right now things are getting squared away with my doctors office. Doses are being evaluated and medical jargon is being tossed around. My pharmacy has called about a million times to make sure I have scripts for everything. Doctors office has called to make sure I am all set up and ready to go. Things are falling into place and so all I can do now is wait. They said it could take over a week to get a trainer out to me. In the meantime I have watched videos, YouTube, and asked a whole lot of questions.

I’m ready!

2. My daughter is in school now, my husband works a lot, and I thought blogging while maintaining the house would leave me feeling great. Like a real asset to the family. Some days, however, I wish I was doing more. When I was in college that kept me busy. I was furthering my education and proving that I could be successful in life even with diabetes on board. It also gave me some social interaction, which was nice. Since graduating I have been fortunate enough to be able to stay at home and raise my daughter. She’s growing up though and school days are only going to get longer. So, I figured I’d get a job. Why is this so monumental? Well, because like I said, aside from college I have been a stay at home mom for almost six years now. I haven’t worked because I haven’t needed to. And no one is forcing me now, but I need to do something. It’s nothing major, just a part time gig at Target but I think it’ll be nice to get out of the house a bit.

Now here are the worries. I haven’t really worked AND managed my diabetes at the same time. My last job was at a grocery store and when I got pregnant I quit so that I could give all of my attention to being healthy and having a healthy child. (I had only been diagnosed a short while) I’m concerned that my diabetes will be put on the back burner. I know that it’s my choice whether it sits there or not but it’s going to take a lot of multitasking skill to ensure that everything stays as calm and as smooth as possible. I don’t want to seem like a failure if I find that working, managing diabetes, the house and everyone’s schedules turns out to be too much for me.

How do you working diabetics manage to maintain a healthy balance?

3. I’ve started exercising a lot more. Every day this week actually. All thanks to the Big Blue Test. Check out the website and join the movement. I’ll say that it’s for a great cause. Every ten entries logged equals a $5.00 donation to help people with diabetes in need. So not only is it getting you active it’s also helping someone else. I call that a win/win. From now until November 14th, World Diabetes Day, people everywhere will be logging those big blue tests in hopes of reaching a goal of 20,000. The best part? You don’t have to have diabetes to help out. All that matters is that you get active for 14-20 minutes a day, or more, and then log that Big Blue Test. So what are you waiting for? Let’s go. :)

I’ve noticed a significant change in my blood glucose levels just by walking a mile everyday.

4. November is Diabetes Awareness Month. A specific time to educate and advocate. I hope that every chance you are given you are talking about and raising awareness for this disease. I know that just by mentioning a few things on my personal Facebook I have already opened the gates up to conversation about what diabetes is and how it affects my life. That’s all it takes to get the word out and the myths busted. I think it’s also a time to celebrate that this disease, though tedious and frustrating, a battle on a daily basis, it is not the end of the world for us. We are all strong, unique, and wonderful individuals.

Living life to the fullest. :)

5. Since I just mentioned World Diabetes Day..if you have a twitter account, or even if you don’t, make one, so you can join in on the conversations that will be going on for a full 24 hours. All diabetics and non-diabetics welcomed. There might even be refreshments. ;) Moderators will be jumping in and out with topics and discussions for every one. If you’d like more information let me know and I will find it.

I’ll be there and I hope to see you too.

In closing: Don’t forget to smile, there’s always a reason to.

3 Comments

  1. Happy Friday to you! I’ll say, managing diabetes while working full time, caring for a kid, spending time with my husband and doing social things with friends and families makes it TOUGH. But just like putting exercise into your daily routine, it had to be something you do and make a point of. Having a CGM for me has been a life saver. Literally. Doing fingersticks so many times per day while working would be rough, but necessary, especially with a job on your feet and moving around. I wish I could give you more advice other than make it routine and test test test, but that’s really the best I can do! You CAN do it! :)

  2. I don’t have kids at home (unless you count a 28 year old niece as a kid– and I don’t). But I have been working since I was 14 (diagnosed at 28). I even spent nine years working in retail during that time.

    The only tips I can give you are pay attention to what’s happening to your body in the next few weeks. There may be adjustments that will have to be made. You’ll figure out what those are. For me, in the last year or so, I’ve had to ratchet down my basal rate about an hour before I’m off of work. This usually keeps me from sinking too low on the way home (I commute on the subway– about 15-20 minutes each way). Even though this usually works, I still have to remind myself to do a BG check prior to leaving, just in case. There are days when I’m glad I did. Good luck!

  3. To be honest, I think working makes diabetes management easier. It’s a routine – and any predictable routine makes it easier to figure out how your body will respond. Also, it’s a diversion, and anything that stops you from obsessively looking at (and over-responding to) blood sugar changes is a good thing — it also limits snacking (unless you work in a candy shop). Not saying you’re obsessive about looking at your D-status, but I am — and I have previously at both a chocolate company and a fast-food place, so that’s my experience…

Leave a Reply

