Feeling loved.

So I had mentioned possibly getting a pump, specifically an OmniPod insulin pump, and how there were just a few loose ends that needed to be tied before I could even think about calling myself a pumper.

Of course, those loose ends had more to do with financial reasons. At this moment in time my insurance was willing to cover about 80% of the cost for the pump. Which meant I only needed to come up with about $320 and it would all be mine. (This wouldn’t be the case at the beginning of the year. The percentage of how much they were going to cover would have been way less than that) SO I knew I needed to act fast and now. To some people that three hundred and some odd dollars seems like a walk in the park. Not for this family. I have a five y/o daughter who needs things, myself with all of my medical needs, my husband needs things every once in awhile, so coming up with this amount seemed like it was going to take a life time to get to.

We agreed on where we would pinch for pennies and set out to achieve this goal. Then I got an idea. Why don’t I ask friends and family to donate a few dollars to my “pump fund” and see where that gets me. I mean anything would have helped. I posted my message over Facebook and then quickly took it down. Asking for help doesn’t come easy. Especially when it comes to asking for money. I think that was the hardest part of the JDRF Walk to Cure I recently did. Asking people to donate. I don’t know why its difficult for me, but it is. So I removed the post and agreed that if it was meant to be then it would be.

My mother-in-law and my husbands grandmother said they’d help out and I thought, this could actually happen. Then the most surprising thing occured. A few of my husbands family members, cousins/aunts, people we only really see during the holidays, though we wish it was more than that, offered to help. In fact with their generous donations we only had to put in a few dollars of our own into the pot. I was overwhelmed with joy and appreciation, I still am. I knew his family was loving and caring but I was left stunned. They were too kind and I don’t know how I could ever repay them for what they’ve done for me. Because of them I will be getting my Insulin Pump on Monday, possibly Wednesday, and starting a new journey.

I don’t know if they read my blog but you know who you are and you are truly wonderful. My husband and I are completely taken aback by everything that has transpired and from the bottom of our hearts we thank you. A million times, thank you.

The future was looking a bit hazy. With birthdays and Christmas around the corner any “extra” money goes to our little one. Actually getting the insulin pump seemed like a distant dream. Something that I wanted/needed but probably wouldn’t get. Some awesome people made this dream come true. To everyone who has supported me, answered my silly OmniPod questions, encouraged me to explore insulin pumping..Thank you.

This new chapter means more to me than a lot of you know and I am so thrilled.

I was going to write about why I chose the OmniPod and what Insulin Pumping will mean for me, but this is what came out and I am happy with that)

I’ll leave you with this..

Don’t forget to smile, there’s always a reason to. :)

9 Comments

  1. So, so, so excited for you! You have a wonderful family and it’s so nice to see that they understand and support you. Can’t wait to hear about your experience with the OmniPod! Don’t be afraid to reach out if you have questions!!

Leave a Reply

