Let’s get this party started..

A few things worthy of a mention here today.

First things first, today kicks off Diabetes Awareness month. What does this mean to me? Well, a lot! It means that I get to sport the color blue, any day really, but more importantly on Blue Fridays. If you hash tag (BlueFridays), or click on said hash tag, on instagram or Twitter, you will find tons of other people wearing blue for diabetes awareness. This is a unique opportunity to show your support for myself, and others living with diabetes. It’s an incredible thing, really.

It’s all about getting the word out there. Debunking the myths that surround this disease and overall showing that diabetics are people too, who live normal happy lives with just a few extra steps in the morning.

In just a few short weeks (November 14th) the diabetes online community will also be celebrating World Diabetes Day where some amazing people on twitter will hold a 24 hour tweet-chat dedicated to..you guessed it..diabetes.

Hope you can join in.

In other news: Today is a very special day for Mexican people, people of Mexican decent, and really most Hispanic cultures.

They will all be celebrating Día de los Muertos.

Here’s a great link explaining the basics of this holiday..Day Of The Dead.

If you choose not to click the link here’s a quick run down. The holiday focuses on gatherings of family and friends to pray for and remember friends and family members who have died. You prepare foods that your loved one, or loved ones, enjoyed, and you either take it to their graves or you just partake in the feasts at home remembering and celebrating all that the person meant to you. That is the key word though, celebrating, never mourning.

It isn’t meant to be morbid or scary. Just a time to party in honor of your loved ones.

I didn’t always celebrate this holiday. Though I am Mexican-American my parents were more worried about being All-American, which is why they never even bothered to teach us Spanish, but that’s a story for another time. I did have friends who enjoyed the festivities so it was fun to hear about all that went into this day. Since my mother passed away in 2010 I have done just a little something every year to remember her. Whether it be by playing her favorite music that day or preparing her favorite, traditional, Mexican dishes, or even eating any kind of treats that she loved. We don’t go all out but I do the minimum because I think it is important to introduce my daughter to both sides of her heritage, so this is great for discussions and learning.

This year I plan on attending a local parade/party that is being held in our local arts district. There will be music and food, painted faces, and our hearts will be filled with so much love for those of us no longer living.

I thought it would be nice to share of bit of my culture, a bit of myself, here with you today because even though I have type one diabetes, there is so much more to me than just that. I am also a proud Latina woman. I am proud of my culture and I am proud of my diabetes. I am who I am because both things have shaped me.

Nothing can change that.

Here’s my best Sugar skull.

Credit goes to my husband though for actually painting my face.

Leave a Reply

