It’s the little things.

Not too long ago I wrote about how I was feeling overwhelmed by life and so in my daughters ultimate wisdom she advised that I stop and smell the roses..so to speak. I agreed with her wholeheartedly. Again I am finding myself wishing I could scrap a few things off my plate though. There’s always a lot going on, things that need to get done, appointments that need to be made for him, and her, and me. It’s already five in the evening here and I still need to finish laundry, make dinner, clean the upstairs a bit..rest, maybe? Get a grocery list together, put said laundry away, clean up after dinner..I mean the list goes on really. In between all of that I need to make sure the little miss is showered and prepared for school tomorrow. Make sure I have checked my blood sugar a few times.

Whew.

Being a stay at home mom has been such an amazing experience but it is not all rainbows and sunshine. It’s stressful sometimes. So just when I find myself wanting to pull my hair out thinking about all that needs to get done this month, next month, and then of course all of Decembers festivities..my daughter intervenes at the perfect moment and decides that I need to forget about everything..

I need to relax and play games with her. :)

Knowing that I need to get so much done tonight ..

I still agree that it is indeed play time.

We played a riveting half hour of this and at the end of it I felt great. Happy. Still slightly stressed because I know that half an hour could have been used for about a million other things but not regretful. I needed that play time and I think she did too. Sometimes I get so wrapped up in all that needs to get done that I forget about how much fun it is to just sit with my daughter and do nothing. Or sit with her and play a board game. By the time I get done with everything for that day, it’s over, she’s gone to bed and I am left wishing I had spent more time with her.

I hate that.

I told her she needs to stop me more often, and daddy too, when she thinks we aren’t giving her enough attention. Because I had the best time laughing with her and playing games. Now don’t get me wrong, we aren’t neglecting her or anything, but it is very easy to get caught up in work, appointments, and other stuff that need to get done.

It’s the little things in life that we need to appreciate more.

I try to take every opportunity I have to play with her and read with her but every once in awhile I need reminding that the laundry will get done, eventually, and that these years with her as a little one will fly by.

It’s dinner time and then after that maybe a movie with my little one. Because, why not?

Don’t forget to smile, there’s always a reason to. :)

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

