#Dsma Blog Carnival: Can I trust you?

One of the hot issues in the DOC these days is test strip accuracy.  It’s exciting to see outside agencies beginning to take note.  With that in mind, let’s revisit our September 4th chat “Test Strip Accuracy” and talk about . . .

What would your comment be on meter accuracy at the Diabetes Technology Society meeting?

With the question in mind I’d just like to say that before the test strip accuracy movement I blamed the meters. I figured they were flawed in some way, shape, or form. Nothing is ever 100%. The thought of this little device basically holding my life in it’s little electronic hands frightened me. I wondered constantly, and still do, about what would happen if my glucose meter stopped working or started acting wonky. Of course, I could always buy a new one, right? I’d be facing the same questions either way.

Every time I pull my meter out to use it I wonder if it is giving me the correct information. Just this week I was feeling very off, like high blood sugars off, when I pricked my finger to test, however, the meter read 122. Sounds like a great number but why the symptoms. That made me wonder, could something be wrong with the meter. Not that I am always putting blame on it, I mean I am honest with myself when there’s a high number and I know it was something I did. Every once in a while though I am left questioning all of it. Everything. A lot rides on the fact that these numbers I get off of my glucose meter have to be accurate.

I need to know what needs to be done, if anything at all, when my blood sugar is high, low, normal. I can’t do my job if my own meter is refusing to do it’s job. Or if I just can’t trust it.

I need to know that people in high places, the people working on/creating these tools that I use daily, are making sure the product is always up to par. It is not something to take lightly. Literally my life is in their hands. I can’t always go by symptoms alone. If I can’t rely on my device to help me out..then what will I do. Dramatic as it might seem it is the honest truth.

My comments/questions would address what sort of movement is going to spark with meter accuracy at hand. Not everything is 100% sure, I am the first to admit that, as previously stated, but that doesn’t mean we can’t get pretty damn close. Are companies taking our needs into consideration remembering that we are alive, we are not just the “consumer” not just numbers and data.

Are they seeing us? Hearing us?

And if they are, will they bother to address the situation?

Some days my meter and I are great together, but every once in awhile I’m not sure I can trust it.

That is not the way relationships should work. Let’s work on that trust. Let’s do something about it.

 “This post is my October entry in the DSMA Blog Carnival.  If you’d like to participate too, you can get all of the information at http://diabetescaf.org/2013/09/october-dsma-blog-carnival-3/

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: Diabetes Community Advocacy Foundation – DSMA Blog Carnival – October Round-Up

Leave a Reply

