Writers block.

I have only had this blog since April, or maybe May, and it has been the best in terms of getting out frustrations, or even triumphs, with diabetes. Lately, however, I have found myself stuck in this lull. I really don’t know what to write about anymore. I assume, though I know a person shouldn’t, that a lot of writers/bloggers go through something like this. You feel as though you’ve covered all the topics possible. That there isn’t one thing you could go over that either hasn’t been done or would even be remotely interesting…

Well, that’s where I am.

I have a few saved drafts of things I have tried writing. Set aside to be finished at a later date, but even those just seem like shallow complaints about this or that. Hurt feelings over misinterpreted words. Personally, I feel as though they are not worth posting now.

So here I am. Just writing to write. Because I miss it and I love it. It’s been about a week and a half since my last post. I felt it was time to come up with something and still I can not. How do you all do it? Those of you with 100’s of posts. Where do you get your inspiration? I feel as though locking myself into a strictly diabetic blog might have been a downfall. There are other factors in my life that have absolutely nothing to do with diabetes. I am a wife, a mother, a sister, a daughter..and all of these titles come with frustrations/joys of their own. Perhaps I should branch out a bit more and instead of focusing on one hat, explore all of them, and what they mean to me..

I suppose I could revamp my “brand” people do this sort of thing all the time, right?

I mean this is.. Life, or something like it..

What do you do when you feel as though you’ve said all that you can say.. at least for now?

 

9 Comments

  1. I’m in the same boat. I feel lucky if I can have 1 or 2 quality posts per week. I don’t want to blog just to put something out there – I want it to help someone, or to mean something, and I just haven’t felt that creative lately. Of course, I also haven’t had the chance to catch up on reading all the other blogs I want to read, so maybe there is where I’m missing some inspiration?

  2. I have had my blog since 2008. It’s my blog and I put what I want on it. I have gone through a ton of changes in 5 years, kids got older, grandchild born, divorce, and now diabetes. I ended up taking basically a 2 year break from my blog because I just didn’t feel it. Writers block hit me hard. I got to the point where I felt like I was whining. But I’m back and if I whine, oh well, it’s my blog.

  3. It’s tough to find inspiration sometimes. Often, I find it from reading other blogs. With my blog, I try not to make it a diary of my life — my life is just not that interesting, and there are things I keep private (though sometimes frustrations take over and I unload frustrations). At the same time, I don’t try to be inspirational and sugar-coat everything, because it doesn’t come across as genuine when I try.

    So I write about the mundane, everyday experiences but try to give it a twist that perhaps others haven’t thought of. Like my breakfast syrup post from Friday.

    But I’ve learned that if I’ve got nothing to say, don’t try to force it. Because then I won’t enjoy writing it, and others won’t enjoy reading. So I wait for the inspiration to come.

    • That’s my biggest thing. I want to enjoy what I am putting out there. Sitting down and actually getting to read other blogs might help me out. Inspiration can be found in many places. I believe in quality not quantity. I guess I just figured that since I’d put myself into a very specific category that I was stuck there. I’ll figure something out. In the meantime thank you for stopping by and commenting. It’s very much appreciated.

  4. Liz… ummm… Who says your blog has to be entirely diabetes? My cover page says “Diabetes Blog”, but I post about my bike rides, recipes, vacations, etc. Life is more than just one thing. Besides, you can probably find diabetes in just about anything if you look for it. On the other hand, if you’re not feeling it today, you’re not feeling it. I completely understand. Even Hemingway got writer’s block from time to time.

    I look forward to reading every post… whenever it comes. Thanks

    • Very, very true. I think I just need to focus on the joy I have writing and not so much on whether or not it is always diabetes related. I was nervous that if I sectioned myself into a diabetes corner that no one would be interested in anything other than that. Silly, I know. Thank you so much though for your constant support and encouragement.

  5. Yeah, I agree with Stephen :) I write about traveling, running, reading, cooking, etc. I usually tie it into diabetes but I don’t always. I think my blog is more for me to deal with my frustrations with diabetes but also to share my experiences. I love reading people’s comments and I love reading people’s blogs so writing my blog is more of a way to “keep in touch” while still venting and sharing (if that makes any sense-I think I started to ramble some-maybe I’m low :-P)

Leave a Reply

