Silly diabetes, tricks are for kids? :)

I’ve come to find, over the years, that when my sugar is a tad bit low..I have no idea what I am doing. Take for example the other day. the picture below is from Monday the 26th. Around 11 o’clock my blood sugar went from 82 to a very shaky 57. I then take two glucose tablets that I assume/read on the bottle to be about 15 carbs a piece. In my head I am taking 30 carbs so that I can come back up to a normal number. Wrong. Because then I drop. I continue to stay low even after popping a few more tablets. What the heck is going on here?

After eating lunch I finally hit a great number and then drop again. Have my glucose tablets gone bad?

Oh no. It was just me forgetting how to read labels..

Because it states, clear as day, that total carbs for 1 tablet is only 4. Where as calories are 15. So I was actually only taking 8 total carbs at a time when I should have been taking more. This was so frustrating to see. Ha. Well, now I know.

In other news.

I was up all night with low blood sugars, again. It seems as though, now that I have been really exercising, my blood sugar will spike right after the workout and then stay very low for the rest of the day.

So I came to the conclusion that..

Checking your blood sugar at 3 in the morning, and not wanting to disturb people by turning on all the lights, would be so much easier if I had one of these already built into my glucose meter. Stumbling and fumbling around trying to figure out what’s going on with the good old blood sugar is not fun. Not one bit. I may need to just purchase one of these handy dandy lights and keep it close by.

Solar-LED-Reading-Light

And that’s going to do it for this installment of wordy wordless Wednesday. :)

1 Comment

  1. Oh my gosh, I have totally done that before too (read the label wrong)! I have a small lamp next to my bed too for middle of the night checks, which unfortunately is an every night occurrence for me now. They work! and my hubby appreciates it too :)

Leave a Reply

