What’s the buzz?

Recently I purchased an at home A1c kit. The company is Reli-On and I bought it, at Walmart, for about $9.00. I was concerned about the price at first, is cheap always good? However in this case I thought I would take a chance.

I was asked by a few people on my Facebook page, The Diabetic Mommy, if I could give a quick review of the product. I figured why not, I know a lot of people have been wanting to try it, myself included, and so here are my thoughts..

First off..

This is what the box looks like. Fairly self explanatory there. You can find it, most likely, where you would get your glucose tablets, glucose meters, testing strips, and things of that nature.

This is the back of the box where it gives you a quick definition of what, who, how, and why in regards to your A1c. As well as some very basic instructions on how to use this product.

Below are the contents of your Reli-On kit:

  1. The instructions on how to use and send your blood specimen.
  2. Hemoglobin A1c test authorization and collection form.
  3. Lancets.
  4. Alcohol pad.
  5. Gauze pad.
  6. Adhesive bandage.
  7. Postage paid return envelope.

The instructions are very in depth and easy to follow. There are guided step by step directions.

These are the lancets by the way. Be warned that if it doesn’t click the first time and stab poke you then it is not working properly and you will have to use the other one. Another warning: it hurts and left a bit of a bruise. Of course I might have sensitive fingertips.

The Good:

Here’s what you really want to know. As far as this product is concerned I did like it. Very much! The accuracy is up to par with getting your A1c done at a doctors office. I’ve had both done recently. So I would highly recommend it. And since it is so cheap I’d suggest doing it yourself just to get a heads up before getting it done at your next appointment. Even if only to compare the results yourself.

The Bad:

What I didn’t like is how long it took to get the information. I figured it wouldn’t be as quick as getting it done at the office, I just didn’t think it would take as long as it did. On the sheet it gives you two options: 1. You can get your results mailed to you which could take up to a week. After they receive and review the material. Or 2. You can get the results emailed to you. It stated that this could take up to 24-48 hours after the initial receiving and testing part.

I opted for the email thinking that I would get it quicker this way. I was wrong. It took nearly two weeks before I heard anything. Of course I was very pleased with the results, a perfect 7.0% so that made up for the wait. Overall, that would be my only complaint though. If you don’t mind waiting a bit for your results then, again, I would highly recommend it. I’d also like to add that their customer service reps are phenomenal and answered all of my questions within a day of my emailing them. (Two weeks was just too much for this impatient little lady) They are just awesome though. I am a sucker for amazing customer service.

The Conclusion: (There was no ugly) 

As in the movie, The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly..? Okay, never mind. 

If you are thinking you’d like to check your A1c before appointments, between them, or whenever, then I would suggest using this product. I’m actually an avid Reli-On products user, you can find them in your local Walmart. I personally use their glucose meter, the Prime, with such affordable test strips. I have found it to be fairly accurate in comparison to other meters. I also use their glucose tablets that come in some very delicious flavors. It’s all just really great stuff.

If you’ve used any of these products, or just the A1c at home testing kit, then let me know what you thought of it.

Good or bad.

And as I always say, Own it or be owned. :)

8 Comments

  1. Thanks for the review Liz! I had looked into an A1C kit a few months back (maybe 6 months by this point) and all the reviews online were horrible for them so I’m glad to see a positive review. It sounds like the whole process was pretty easy and it was very nice that the result was consistent with your bloodwork results. Thanks for sharing-I might have to make a trip out to Wal-Mart now ;-)

    • I had checked reviews myself and was not happy with all the negative responses. I figured I would just try it and see for myself. I remember having a conversation with a few people on twitter who were hesitant about it. Hopefully more people will try it and come out with a positive experience. If you do pick it up, let me know what you think. I’d love to compare info.

  2. Pingback: Friday Six, Plus a Few. - Six Until Me - diabetes blog

  3. Liz, how did the 7.0% compare with your labs? That’s the biggest issue for me. If it’s not accurate, it is worthless. I tried a Bayer version from Costco last year, and it gave me a 6.2% (awesome, I thought), but my labwork that same day gave me a 6.9%. Not nearly close enough, but maybe I am being picky? Thanks for the review – I saw this on the Six Until Me blog. -John

    • Hi there, John. Thanks for stopping by. For me the at home test was spot on with the results from my doctors visit. I expected them to be slightly off from each other. The way I figure is that the at home test is going to give me a ball park guess on where I might be so that from there I can decide if in between office visits i might need to fix some things. I’d say that the 6.2 and 6.9 weren’t too far off from one another. Not bad. Now, if you’d gotten an 8.9 in office but a 6.2 for the at home one.. I’d most definitely suspect faulty results from your in home kit. Another frustrating factor: one product is just fine with correlating results where as another time I may get something so totally off. I think that’s a chance we take when doing most anything over the counter. Am I right?

Leave a Reply

