Fun times..here we come.

Before I get into anything I would just like to wish my amazingly wonderful, handsome husband a very HAPPY BIRTHDAY! You are the love of my life and I can’t wait to spend this day with you. I love you, I love you, I love you.

With that said..

Today  we will be embarking on a good time extravaganza.

It’s been years since the husband and I went to any sort of amusement park, so I thought it would be super nice to treat him, and the rest of the family, to a trip to our local amusement park. The thought of being away from the house, out and about, running around all day, got me thinking..

I better be super prepared for this. I would hate to be the party pooper, fun ruiner, because diabetes got the best of me.

So here’s what I think I’ll need:

  • My glucose meter with plenty of test strips and lancets. (Ha. Like that’ll get changed any time soon) I know that running around in the heat is going to cause chaos with my numbers so I need to be prepared to check my sugar as often as possible.

The last thing I need is to go super high or too low.

  • Which leads to my next very important reminder, bring my insulin and syringes. I need to be sure to keep them close by but in a cool/safe spot. Diabetes stops for no one. I also have my glucose sticks and tablets just in case I happen to drop.
  • I will have plenty of bottled water on hand to stay nice and hydrated and will stick to diet drinks only.
  • I have plenty of alcohol swabs in case I can’t get to a restroom to wash my hands too.
  • Wish I had a medical alert bracelet with me. I need to get one real soon. Luckily my husband is never far away.

I think the only thing I am concerned about it over exerting myself and not being of any use to anyone. I get tired easily sometimes. I can not always control my numbers. I just want to enjoy the day. So I will remember that I am not a robot or super human and that it is alright to rest once in awhile. Are there any tips you’d like to share for long road trips/long days at amusement parks?

I’d love to hear them.

Now, we’re off to enjoy the day. Take care, friends.

A travelling funfair has many attractions, inc...

3 Comments

  1. Hi… sorry I missed this on Friday. Happy Birthday Husband! You definitely need a medical bracelet or necklace. Even though your husband was with you, the ID would be helpful in case you ever got separated for some reason. Hope it was a great day!

Leave a Reply

