#Dsma July Blog Carnival.

Blood glucose.

It’s front and center when it comes to diabetes.  It is how we get diagnosed and it is what we are trying to manage.  An important tool we use to manage our blood glucose is our meter and its strips.  But what happens if our meters aren’t giving reliable information?  Let’s explore that this month as we discuss a topic from the June 26th chat (Fill in the Blank)

Weigh in on the following statement:

Test strip accuracy is important to me because______.

This is something I have written a little about before..my main focus was the meter itself though.

This was written April 20, 2013

I recently read an article here about a glucose meter recall that is currently going on..

Now, I don’t use this particular meter, but others do. This whole recall got me a little nervous. If you read through the report it states that a high reading, in the 1000′s, would store itself as a very low number. Thus giving the user false information that could endanger them. Now, realistically, I have never been close to anything that high, and if that were the case, I am sure I would have already been hospitalized. What scares me is that we diabetics have to rely so heavily on these devices to let us know vital information and to think that some of them may be faulty..well, it’s a bit frightening.

I realize that not everything is 100% perfect. Things get damaged, get updated, or are just outdated altogether. It’s normal to have things quit working but I never thought about my meter, or even an insulin pump, just one day going all wonky. I would be, for lack of a better phrase, shit out of luck. Of course, I could just buy another meter, but financially that is not always possible. My meter is very important in my survival. With it, and symptoms included, I am able to tell if I should take insulin, for a high, or if I need to eat something to get my blood sugar back up. If it happened to not work properly I could be putting myself in harms way, and I am not alright with that.

So what can be done about this..

Well I found a website here that gave me some helpful tips..

However, this has still left me concerned and confused. I’m wondering if any other diabetics worry about this sort of thing, like meters malfunctioning and getting the wrong readings. I haven’t dealt with this for as long as others so I am feeling very uneasy about this whole recall, even if it doesn’t directly affect me, it still raises a flag. The only thing I can say to bring myself, or anyone, any sort of ease is that this is why it is very important to be very aware and in tune with how you are feeling and the symptoms that you know will follow a high/low blood glucose reading. Though, even that is not always 100% accurate. There have been times I’ve felt low and after checking my sugar it will read normal.

Diabetes, you make me want to pull my hair out..

 

Now replace my initial concerns about the meter itself with test strip accuracy. I hadn’t stopped to think that maybe it wasn’t the meter that was at fault but instead the actual testing strips. These two items are very important in my survival, you can not have one with out the other, or you could but that wouldn’t be very beneficial, so I take this sort of stuff seriously.

Test strip accuracy is important to me because my whole life relies on it. It’s like going into a dark cave filled with deadly creatures and not having a flashlight to see what the heck is going on around me. I need to be able to get a hold of the correct information, like my actual blood glucose level, so that I can react accordingly. No one wants to wander into the unknown blindly. Realistically you can only rely on your senses so much. So what can we do about all of this?

Check out this site.

Strip Safely

 “This post is my July entry in the DSMA Blog Carnival.  If you’d like to participate too, you can get all of the information at http://diabetessocmed.com/2013/july-dsma-blog-carnival-3/

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

