June-#Dsma Blog Carnival.

Regardless of which type of diabetes you have you probably use one or more diabetes devices on a daily basis.   For this post, when we refer to devices we mean blood glucose meters, insulin pens or pumps, and all other diabetes medications.  This month we’re going to revisit the May 15th chat on Diabetes Devices and really think about what we use. 

We’d like to know:

  • How do you select the diabetes devices you use? To others looking into new or replacement devices, what would be your best advice to someone shopping around? 

To answer the questions I’d say that in choosing my devices I look for affordability, first and foremost, it would be nice to have every gadget out there on the market but for some that is just not a reasonable option. I am in that category. So I shop around for products that will do the job I need it to do and not cost me an arm and a leg. I will have to admit I also look for convenience, I already have to carry mountains of crap with me, if you have children you might understand, so the last thing I need is more junk to bring along for a simple trip to the grocery store…

For those looking for options/replacements I’d say get what you feel comfortable with. It doesn’t have to be flashy, though I like cute stuff too, it serves a purpose and that is the most important thing to remember. Check out the accuracy, take it for a test drive, and make sure it is doing what it needs to do for you. This includes, pens, insulin and syringes, pumps, meters…all of it. Make sure it is going to work for you.

Here’s what I use to survive…

For the longest time I was using the “old school” method of insulin and syringes. Then one day, a few years back, I discovered the awesomeness of an insulin pen. It’s the same concept, you have to manually inject the insulin into your body, the difference is that it is all loaded into one quick an easy device.

Welcome to the 21st Century

 

The convenience of these made life so much easier. All I had to carry with me was my glucose meter, which we will discuss shortly, and the little caps that click right on top..think of them as mini syringes. Simple. I could just dial up the units I needed and then discretely inject and be on my way. I loved them! The only issue I had with this was that insurance couldn’t cover the cost of them for very long. I couldn’t afford them out of pocket so back to insulin and syringes for me. Which isn’t bad. I mean it isn’t too troublesome. These days I’m not so shy about taking my shots in public either so that helps. The pens were just so nice to throw in my purse with a handful of the caps and just go, go, go..

As a diabetic, and if a pump is not for you, I would highly recommend insulin pens.

As far as a glucose meter is concerned. I have had a few. Currently I am using a Reli-On Prime. You can find these at your local Walmart. The best feature of this device is how incredibly cheap the strips are. You can get 50 testing strips for $ 9.00 and to me that is a bargain. I have heard some say that the accuracy is a bit off, however, I have tested mine against the other glucose meters I have and the points have not been off by very much. At least not for me. I think it depends on the product itself. Some things are going to work when you buy them and others are not.

I personally really like this meter.

My favorite meter!

My favorite meter!

Side Note: Can I just say that I really wish diabetes was a little bit cheaper. There was a time where every single diabetic thing I needed came from out of pocket funds. (Sometimes that’s still the case) The insulin vials, the syringes, the meter and strips, the doctors visits. It is all so costly. Maybe more people would be inclined to manage their health/diabetes if it was more affordable. I understand that not everything can be 5 cents..I think that’s from the medlife commercial..but it would help a lot if it were just a little more attainable. Just thought I’d throw that out there..

Anyway. I like this meter. It comes in a gorgeous fire engine red, or brilliant blue, and like I said the strips are very affordable. I have seen a lot of high end devices but at the end of the day as long as I can test my sugar with a fair amount of accuracy and get that insulin into me then I am all set.

Which devices do you use?

Did you enjoy my scattered review? :)

“This post is my June entry in the DSMA Blog Carnival.  If you’d like to participate too, you can get all of the information at http://diabetessocmed.com/2013/june-dsma-blog-carnival-3/

4 Comments

  1. Great post. I’m with you on the crazy cost of everything. I may go check out your meter. I need a new backup, and if it is in the ballpark accuracy-wise with my regular meter, with the cost of the strips being far less, it may be worth it.

    • The strips is what caught my attention and then I, as well as a few others, tested the accuracy against multiple other meters and it came out perfect. So I would definitely recommend it as a back up or even a primary. I mean $9.00 for 50 strips is such a steal. I might write a post about it actually.

  2. I did enjoy your review and I agree that affordability and convenience are important!! When I was on MDIs my endo introduced me to insulin pens too and I loved them!! My insurance gave him a hard time about covering them, but he wrote a letter of medical necessity and they agreed to cover them. (I think he said my eye sight was bad – which isn’t a lie, I need reading glasses or I can’t see those little lines on the syringes!!)

Leave a Reply

