Change can be a good thing..

summer-fun

 

 

Time flies when you’re having fun..

I hadn’t realized my last blog post was almost a week ago. :)

Lately, per advice from my daughter, I have been taking time to really enjoy myself and family time. Since “graduating” preschool, May 22nd, my husband and I have been talking up how awesome this “official” summer break was going to be for her. So we have been taking advantage of every single opportunity to be out and about with her. In between all the excitement I have been revamping some things in my life. Some big, and some small, but all important to me.

I thought I’d share..

Diabetes has always been something that I sort of pushed to the side. I take my health seriously…just not always the way I should have been. I checked my sugars when I felt “off” I never missed an injection but I never really took the time to plan them out around meals. I wasn’t doing it right, apparently. (Carb counting has been this amazing phenomenon that I just discovered thanks to my family doctor and it has changed my life..) The point is I realized that if I am ever going to have proper control of this situation I was going to have to start putting myself first, health wise anyway, and everything else second. I have taken the time to work with the doctor and figure out my carb per unit of insulin ratio and I have been paying closer attention to how I am feeling. This is a process that has been working itself out for a while now and is finally becoming second nature. Like breathing, I am able to do what I need to do. My levels have been somewhat amazing and all it really took was a little discipline. Go figure. :) Don’t get me wrong, it was sort of “easier” to test once in awhile and just take shots when I felt I needed them, but it wasn’t helping me out in the long run.

I get frustrated once in a while but overall I am feeling great and that’s what matters.

I’m stubborn, but I know that a healthy way of living will keep me around longer. I’m testing regularly, taking my long acting (20 units) in the morning and (20 units) in the evening before bed. I plan out my meals, carb wise, so that I can take enough insulin to cover. My targeted ranges are 85 and 140. I’ve had a few high numbers and quite a bit of the low ones but the results have given me more of an incentive to continue this path. I’ll hopefully get a decent A1C too. We’ll see though.

I’ve also taken the plunge and started exercising at least once a day. Lately I have been walking a mile, or more, everyday. With quite a bit of cardio. Really, I am doing all of this for a better me. A healthier me. Alongside me is my partner in crime, my daughter, and together we walk and workout and enjoy the togetherness that this brings. She’s very encouraging with exercising and taking care of the diabeetus. These days I am so happy. Pieces are falling into place. Not just diabetes wise either but with life in general.

In the next couple of months I will be participating in my first Walk to Cure diabetes with JDRF. I am so very excited. I have already started my fundraising , and though my goal is set low, I am hoping to go above and beyond. My husband has agreed to walk with me and support me through all of it. I figured, if I want a cure, if I want change in the world, then I need to step up to the plate and get my hands dirty. I need to put forth the effort. This will be my first walk, but not my last, and I hope to meet and see a lot of us diabetics or diabetic lovers at the walk.

Within the last few months I have taken control of my life, my health, and my diabetes. I refuse to let this disease own me.

Own it or be owned!

16 Comments

  1. This was such a great blog to read! I think it’s so important to put yourself first especially when you have such a huge deal, like diabetes, to contend with. This will make you healthier and feel better and in effect, a better/happier mom and spouse! Yay for you! :)

  2. I love reading your posts :) In hope for a healthier better me, I’ve started off this month with trying to do more exercise. I was doing so well before and then I got a cold and kinda just stopped. I’m back on it and so far so good. Keep up the good work :)

  3. thank you for sharing! i so enjoy reading your thoughts, many overlap my own. nice reminder we are not alone. congrats on doing the walk! i am active with our local JDRF chapter, have met amazing people & gives me ACTIVE purpose. best of luck!

    • Thanks for stopping by. I apologize for not getting back to you sooner. It is a very nice reminder that we have all shared in similar experiences. It helps me get through a lot of stuff knowing that I am not the only one ever going through this or that. I hope to be an active member of my JDRF chapter. My only wish is that I had started this a long time ago. :)

  4. Great job on your recent accomplishments! Good luck with the fundraising-it’s awesome you have started early. I did my first JDRF walk last October and I didn’t sign up until the last minute so I didn’t do any fundraising; you have me motivated to sign up for the one in my area in the Fall and start fundraising myself :)

Leave a Reply

