Freaky Friday..

Today is day five in the Diabetes Blog Week!

I am so proud of myself for making it this far and not missing any days. If you would like to find out what exactly DBlogWeek is you can follow the link…Bitter Sweet Diabetes. There you will also find a list of everyone who has contributed to the days topic. As well as previous topics. Looking forward to reading everyone’s thoughts for today!

Here’s the prompt: Just like in the movie, today we’re doing a swap. If you could switch chronic diseases, which one would you choose to deal with instead of diabetes? And while we’re considering other chronic conditions, do you think your participation in the DOC has affected how you treat friends and acquaintances with other medical conditions?

For some reason I imagine a show called..Disease Swap it would be just like Wife swap. Any takers?

Truth is I wouldn’t wish a chronic disease on anyone, not even my own, so this was a difficult prompt for me to write on. I think the only good thing that comes from having diabetes, or any illness, is that there is usually someone out there who is struggling much like you are. I know, that seems weird. A good thing, coming from an illness, sure. Allow me to explain..when you find someone/people who “get it” it’s one of the best feelings ever, aside from maybe finding you’re one true love, nothing compares to your joy. All anyone wants is to fit in, feel included, feel like you aren’t the only one. This is a need that not everyone wants to admit either. I for one tried to play the tough card a lot, I was missing something though,  and then I found the DOC. It’s great getting to share my own experiences with others who are able to truly relate. Though my husband tried very hard to understand where I am coming from. :)

With that said..

If I had to swap my illness for another one I think I would choose all of them. Silly? Maybe. (and not all at once either) But I feel like if I knew what each and every person was going through when it came to a lot of these diseases I could be a better friend. Not saying I am a terrible one, but often times I don’t always understand how they are feeling, just like non-diabetic people find it difficult to understand how I am feeling, if I had a better understanding of what people were going through I think that I would be able to comfort them more. My words of wisdom wouldn’t seem so generic. They would come from a familiar place.

I have always felt compassion for anyone and everyone dealing with their own illnesses. No one wishes for a chronic disease. It is not at the top of anyone’s, “when I grow up..” list. Having a chronic illness is no walk in the park for anyone. The individuals who keep up the fight are admirable and I look up to each and every one of them. No matter how big or small people think their disease is. The DOC hasn’t affected how I treat others though it has just reinforced the fact that we all need a sanctuary. A community where we can feel accepted and praised. I hope that there are communities out there for everyone who is living with an illness. Support and encouragement is what gets people through the worst of times.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

