I did it, I did it!

It’s Day 4 of Diabetes Blog Week and our topic today is Accomplishments Big and Small – We don’t always realize it, but each one of us have come a long way since diabetes first came into our life. It doesn’t matter if it’s been 5 weeks, 5 years or 50 years, you’ve done something outstanding diabetes-wise. So today let’s share the greatest accomplishment you’ve made in terms of dealing with your (or your loved one’s) diabetes. No accomplishment is too big or too small. For more about DBlog Week or for a list of other bloggers who have written on today’s topic follow the link .. Bitter Sweet Diabetes.

Honestly, when I was first diagnosed I had a lot of people in my life telling me that I would no longer be able to do this or that. There wasn’t a lot of encouragement being showered on me. A few people had my back, yes, but the people I needed to support me..didn’t. My doctors at the time, my parents..they all said that life was going to change and that I wasn’t going to be treated like everyone else. I was different now, whether I liked it or not. I wouldn’t be able to do the things that others could do. Which was quite a slap in the face. Wasn’t the world supposed to be at my finger tips? Wasn’t I still smart and capable? Just because I had an illness now didn’t mean anything to me. Shouldn’t I still be able to conquer the world right alongside my peers?

At eighteen, still young and naive, I believed what they said. I hadn’t been out in the world much. I was scared when I finally took the plunge and moved out and far away from home, but I needed to see..no..I needed to show them that I could do it. Anything, and everything, I wanted. So despite my parents saying that college would be difficult for me, that my illness would get in the way, I went for it. (Don’t get me wrong, my husband, his family, and my sister pushed me when I needed a good shove..but I did it) I woke up everyday with high/low sugars and I went to classes. I injected myself with insulin on campus, feeling like a weirdo, but I did it. Some days I didn’t want to do it. I was juggling family life; my husband and our daughter, the household, tests, quizzes, homework and my diabetes with all the ups and downs that this disease entails. I did it so that I could prove to them AND to myself that nothing is going to stop me.

Not their negativity and certainly not being diabetic.

I am happy and proud to say that I am a college graduate. I did it! I succeeded, diabetes and all, I succeeded. The road was bumpy and my journey was a long one but I did it. A lot of people said I’d fail. That diabetes would stop me but my biggest accomplishment was telling diabetes to take a sit while I shine. While I take my life into my hands and become something so much more than just that girl with diabetes.

I know it all seems so sappy but to me it’s a big deal. A very big deal.

Don’t let anyone or anything stop you from achieving your dreams/goals!

I’ll never let diabetes beat me. Not ever.

6 Comments

  1. I can definitely relate to a lot of the things you mentioned. Juggling life and diabetes can be a challenge at times, but staying positive and pushing yourself I feel is the only way to be successful. After a night of lows, your post has given me another boost of positivity and strength. Thank you x

  2. Awesome! You got this diabetes thing figured out then ;) . I think stories like this are important to share. Sometimes I forget that people haven’t had the dx their whole life, and getting diagnosed at an age such as 18 is absolutely life altering. You’ve set a great example, not only for other diabetics/PWD, but for young kids who might be struggling with something of their own.

  3. I love your post! Maybe it’s because I’m a few years removed from college/childhood but I also dealt with the negativity and I had forgotten about it. Great reminder of how far we have come and having a positive outlook is definitely a necessity in dealing with T1D. Thanks for sharing :)

Leave a Reply

