Dear Mom.

This month, The Mom Pledge Blog is embarking on an effort called the Dear Mom Meme. The idea is that instead of using the internet to always talk about what we don’t like, or releasing negative energy, we try to take a little time before Mothers Day to spread positive thoughts about another mom. (One we know personally or not) I am in love with this idea so I thought I would dedicate a letter of my own to someone very special..

 

LSPenguin

Dear Sister,

You have witnessed my ups and downs. Praised my triumphs and encouraged me to continue on when I have felt like a failure. Not every memory is a perfect one, there have been fights and misunderstandings, but there have also been moments of uncontrollable laughter and heart felt conversations. With you I can bare my all, every fear and every thought, and not feel judged or silly. Mothers day isn’t just for our own mothers it is also for the women in our lives who have contributed to the kind of people we are today.

You have been my biggest fan in everything I have done or ever tried to accomplish. You were my very first best friend and I have appreciated every single piece of advice you have passed along to me. I don’t know where I would be today if you hadn’t been in my life. Through thick and thin you have always been on my side and I am so very thankful. Even when I was a butt head. I look back on my childhood growing up with you and I laugh at how much I wanted to be just like you. You were pretty much the coolest chick ever, I thought, and I can even remember trying to steal your boyfriend once.

(I was four and he was a handsome high school-er) :)

The point is that even in the distance you have, and will always be, someone I love and adore. You have inspired me to persevere and strive for greatness. Life doesn’t always deal out great hands but you worked with what you had and have made the best out of some dicey situations. I admire the strength you have within. So I want to say, thank you. Thank you for caring about me, loving me, and always being my shoulder to cry on. I love you so very much.

Love your little sister, Liz

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

