Cinco de mayo.

[This is a non diabetic related post]

It’s May Fifth..know what that means..

cincodemayoHappy Cinco De Mayo!

Here’s a little info about me:

If you don’t already know, I am Mexican-American.

My siblings and I were born and raised in beautiful Southern California. My mother, grandmother/all of that side of the family, and some of my aunts, were born in Mexico and then came to the U.S. My mom was three when she became a citizen here. As far as my fathers side goes they are all from either California or Texas. However, there is still a good chunk of family, from both sides, that were born in Mexico and became American citizens a very long time ago. They have lived and thrived here ever since.

At a very young age I remember briefly living in parts of Rosarito and Ensenada, Mexico. My mother wanted us, my brother and I, to experience where some of our family came from. It was exciting but also very scary. While my parents spoke Spanish very well, my brother and I did not. I learned quickly so that I knew what was going on, but it was a task. Despite the chaos and terror that is associated with Mexico, it is a beautiful place. Not just for drunk tourists and drug cartels.

La playas-The beaches were my absolute favorite part about Mexico.

76684

Now, I don’t remember ever celebrating Cinco de Mayo while living out there but I know a lot of people do celebrate it, here in the states, and over there. What bothers me is that very few people even know what the date symbolizes, to them it is a day for tequila shots and silly hats, but to the Mexican people it commemorates a very important day in history for them.

You can read a little about that here.

I am not here for history lessons though. I just wanted to “raise my corona and lime” to the people who truly deserve it. :) Though I don’t celebrate a lot of the Mexican holidays I do keep them in my heart. I cherish the history because whether I experienced it first hand or not, my ancestors were apart of it.

Tonight we will be eating a delicious Mexican influenced meal: Carnitas and Elotes.

(And don’t worry diabetic friends I plan to have plenty of insulin on hand for all of this awesomeness) :)

carnitas_metroElotes-22310

I will be enjoying this beautiful Sunday and I hope you will too.  :)

Also, if you’d like the recipe to the Elotes. It’s essentially corn on the cob/mayo/Parmesan cheese/chili powder (optional)

It is so delicious and something I remember eating a lot as a kid.

8 Comments

Leave a Reply

