A stress free life..

First off…(I’ve been trying to post this since the 1st. I am easily distracted, sorry)

It’s May! Hope the month treats everyone well. New month mean new beginnings. :)

A stress free life..don’t we all want one of those?

It’s safe to assume that a lot of us deal with stress from time to time, and we all handle it in very different ways. I can say, personally, that more often than not there is a lot going on in my life, there’s a lot on my plate, and even though I feel like pulling my hair out sometimes.. I wouldn’t change a thing. The number one cause for my stress is, of course, the diabetes. Though there are other factors that include, taking care of the household with my husband, finances/bills, making sure my daughter is always happy and healthy, and then everything in between.

As far as diabetes goes a lot of things stress me out. Doctors visits, and needing this and that..actually another blogger I follow wrote about a whole lotta stuff we diabetics need. As I read through everything listed I thought, “wow, that is a lot of stuff!” Sometimes I feel like I am just going through the motions, because, well I know the basics of what I need to do to maintain. At the end of the day though it is a huge responsibility and a lot goes into this 24/7 job.

Which sort of circles us around to the fact that this can all get very stressful.

The emotional, physical and mental stresses can wear a person down.

So I thought I would share, and maybe you would too, things that I do to attempt a “stress free” life.

  • When I start to feel the stress creeping over me like a subtle breeze, I’ll have a talk with my husband. (Talking it out, and then talking through it once more really helps me to clear my head) With his encouragement I am prepared because he talks a lot of sense into me. Ha. (Don’t tell him about all the compliments either, don’t want him getting a big head or anything) He holds my hand, keeping me tied to the reality of any situation, and reminds me that we have been through a lot and that this, whatever it is, can be defeated too. He is great at defusing most situations and making me feel better.
  • Now, i’ll admit, though my first point works a lot of the time, there are moments where I get so up in my head that his talks don’t help. That’s when I rely on the power of music. :) When I start to feel like I am getting moody because of the stress I will lock myself in my room, blare my favorite tunes in my ears, and just veg out. Sometimes the alone time is nice and allows you to clear up the clutter in your head. Often times I can tell when I am being a bit dramatic and this helps me snap out of it.
  • Going for walks is great for releasing the stress. (Any exercise for that matter is great for beating the stress monster). I’ll take my daughter with me for a walk around the block sometimes and when we are out and about I don’t have the time to be over thinking anything. Or feeling stressed. I am so in the moment, having fun, that I don’t think about anything else. Then when it’s time to access the situation I can take a deep breath and come at it a different way. Hopefully.
  • Writing, aside from talks with my husband, is my number one go to. When I am feeling so overwhelmed/stressed out/bothered I will sit down and jot down all my thoughts and feelings and then step away from it. I’ll do something else and then again, when I am in a better state of mind, I will look at my words and decide what part of this stress is in my control or what part of it I just need to let be. In the end things will always work themselves out.

I read an article about how stress and diabetes are a terrible duo. You can read that here.

I’ve seen first hand how every day stresses can affect my blood sugar levels so I try my best, though some days can get crazy, to focus on the positive and less on the negatives. One of my favorite quotes, heard just the other day, is “Worrying is like a rocking chair. Gives you something to do but doesn’t get you anywhere!”  I instantly loved it. Some things need a little worry, so you’re going to get stressed, that is inevitable, but I am learning to not stress the little things. Especially the things I have no control over.

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

