Late night thoughts.

We often times take things for granted, in relationships, with our health, or with life in general.

For instance: My life before being diagnosed with diabetes. It was so carefree, for the most part.

1) Before the diagnosis I took for granted the simple things in life, like being able to drink a shake with out having to worry about taking my insulin first. (Or eat anything for that matter. It seems as though everything a person can eat will have some sort of effect on your Blood Glucose. In a good or a bad way, whether you like it or not) Though I still indulge in the things I maybe shouldn’t, the point is that now it doesn’t happen without a little worry first. Did I take enough insulin for this treat/meal? What is, or what will be, my blood sugar before and after I consume this? How is this going to make me feel if I have/haven’t taken insulin? Things like that cross my mind a lot. It’s tedious, really.

(I know I’ve discussed the above topic before, here, and the reason why I bring it up again is that it is something that obviously affects my life tremendously. I apologize if I am being a bit redundant)

2)Another thing I’ve taken for granted would be a full nights sleep. Every now and then you’ll find yourself tossing and turning, especially when one is stressed or has a lot on their mind, I toss and turn for similar reasons. The fun part of diabetes, the part that stinks really, is when you are having to wake in the middle of the night to check on your blood glucose, when you are having to treat a high or a low, and if you are in the high numbers..having to use the restroom more times than should be humanly possible. I have to deal with all of that now and it’s bothersome. Avoidable? Sometimes, yes, but not always. I can’t always control my sugars when I am sick/stressed they really have a mind of their own. And I think this is true no matter how good you are with your diabetes. Everyone has off days and for a person with diabetes those “normal” off days seem tripled with chaos. (At least for me anyway)

Those are just a couple that annoy me sometimes, and though it may seem like I am complaining, I’m really not. I miss certain things about not being diabetic, because I remember what it was like, but I don’t think I would change anything even if I could. Throughout the years I have made some amazing connections with other people who are like me. Or have children/spouses dealing with this disease. I have come to realize that I am not alone and that makes this roller coaster ride a little more enjoyable.

What I will never take for granted is the people in my life, so,  I would like to say thank you to everyone who have been concerned, loving and encouraging. Thanks to everyone who have been on my side through my ups and downs and through my fears. It’s taken a lot, I’m sure, for the people in my life to see me struggle. They have also been there to see me succeed, and not just with diabetes, but with every little victory in my life.

Every step of the way their presence has not gone unnoticed.

Thank you..

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

