Calling all Diabetic Mommies.

When you are a diabetic, speaking for myself here, you can feel sort of alone sometimes. I know I’ve suffered from this mind frame here and there. (Though this seems highly illogical because statistics show that there are plenty of us out there) Nonetheless, this is why it can be so nice when you are able to meet and connect with others dealing with the same chronic illness. Birds of a feather flock together sort of thing. I’m not just speaking diabetes either, when you can unite with others that share a common interest you feel a shift in what used to be. You’re world is forever changed.

The same can be said when you are a parent. Quite often parents, again speaking from a very personal outlook, can feel as though they are stranded on a desert island trying to ensure the safety of themselves and their offspring. You are left wondering if you are even doing this whole parenting thing correctly. Some days you are on top of the world feeling so accomplished with, list making, meetings and appointments gotten to (on time), meal plans made, cleaning sessions, and all of the in between  Other days, you might just want to turn the electronics off and hide in the closet. So when you get to meet other parents, or for my instance, other moms, who share the same fears or excitements of parenting that you do, it make all the difference.

Now for me getting to be a mommy and a diabetic, it seems as though the chaos and insecurities have doubled, maybe even tripled. Recently I wrote about the difficulties of juggling my diabetic needs as well making sure my daughters needs are met..

You can read all about that here if you’d like.

It’s very hard to always know what I am doing as a mom. It makes it even harder when I don’t always know what to do with the emotional side of diabetes. I’ve said that I know what to do when it comes to this disease, but that is from a strictly black and white view of it. If I don’t take insulin I will become sick and possibly die. If I do take insulin I will be fine. You know that whole cause and effect thing. What stinks is that parenting, though it can be seen as cause and effect, isn’t as simple as it may sound. And neither is dealing with diabetes emotionally. Some days you just want to give up, you don’t, you keep on trucking, but it can put a little wear on the soul. It does help to have supportive/encouraging friends and loved ones but sometimes you need to hear from people like you. So that you know, for sure, you are not alone in this thing. Twitter has helped me find diabetics across the United States, and even in other countries, who know what being diabetic is. I have met other mommies too. What is hard to find is the diabetic moms. Am I just not looking in the right places? I know they have to be out there..somewhere..right?

So what can be done? Well, I have decided to search Twitter and possibly start my own little Facebook page. What could be the harm, right? Here’s the site. Lemme know what you think.

TheDiabeticMommy

2 Comments

  1. 100% agree. t1d for over 20 years, mommy for 2. the balancing act is something i do everyday, some better than others. our local jdrf chapter has been SO HELPFUL is connecting me with other adult diabetics, most who are parents themselves. shared experiences are important and definitely get me through those dark days.

Leave a Reply

